Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/24/2020, 02:48 PM   #1
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
Sanitize RO/Di?

Can you use scented bleach or this a no no? Thats what my store has left at the moment no unscented.


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2020, 03:47 PM   #2
cvrle1
Registered Member
 
cvrle1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 443
No, dont use scented. No Bueno for RO/DI or any aquarium use really.


cvrle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2020, 02:22 PM   #3
hkgar
Registered Member
 
hkgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dewitt MI
Posts: 5,036
I have never sanitized by RP/DI unit.


__________________
Gary


180 gallon, 40 gallon sump, 3 250 W MH + 4 80W ATI T5's, MTC MVX 36 Skimmer, Apex controller Aquamaxx T-3 CaRx

Current Tank Info: A 2 Barred Rabbitfish, Red Head Salon, Yellow/Purple, McMaster Fairy, Possum, 2 Leopard Wrasses, Kole, & Atlantic Blue Tangs, 2 Percula Clown, 3 PJ and 1 Banggai Cardinalfish , Swallowtail, Bellus and Coral Beauty Angels
hkgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2020, 03:09 PM   #4
billdogg
Registered Member
 
billdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 10,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkgar View Post
I have never sanitized by RP/DI unit.
^^^This^^^

I'm not sure why you would need to. Perhaps shoot Russ at www.buckeyehydro.com a email?

And no, no scented or dripless bleach in any case.


__________________
I'll try to be nice if you try to be smarter!
I can't help that I grow older, but you can't make me grow up!

Current Tank Info: 120 mixed reef with 40b sump, RO 150 skimmer, AI Sol Blue x 2, and a 60g Frag Tank with 100g rubbermaid sump. 2 x Kessil A360w lights, BM curve 5 skimmer
billdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2020, 03:17 PM   #5
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
Russ said you should sanitize once a year with unscented bleach..


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2020, 05:35 PM   #6
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20,050
Yep...Never a bad idea to sanitize yearly/with filter changes..


__________________
Who me?
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2020, 05:46 PM   #7
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
I have an issue now with flow rate. I have the Fr-90 Preset hard water restrictor, so I can't adjust this one? is there a table? I am getting only 125ML water out after a minute


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2020, 04:46 AM   #8
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomreefer View Post
I have an issue now with flow rate. I have the Fr-90 Preset hard water restrictor, so I can't adjust this one? is there a table? I am getting only 125ML water out after a minute
Seems to be around 50GPD..

What membrane do you have?
What is your incoming water pressure?
How much waste are you getting in that amount of time?
What is the incoming water temperature?
Are these all new filters?

What brand RO/DI unit are you using?
What were you getting before?


__________________
Who me?
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2020, 05:54 AM   #9
five.five-six
Registered Member.
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Corona
Posts: 7,574
Blog Entries: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdogg View Post
^^^This^^^

I'm not sure why you would need to. Perhaps shoot Russ at www.buckeyehydro.com a email?

And no, no scented or dripless bleach in any case.
Wow, is Russ still around? I bought my first RO/DI system from buckeye a million years ago.


five.five-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/29/2020, 03:28 PM   #10
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgyvr View Post
Seems to be around 50GPD..

What membrane do you have?
What is your incoming water pressure?
How much waste are you getting in that amount of time?
What is the incoming water temperature?
Are these all new filters?

What brand RO/DI unit are you using?
What were you getting before?
90GPD Spectrapure
All new filters added another DI chamber
Water Temp 64 degrees
62 PSI

I redid the whole RO/DI

When you do Waste water ratio do you disconnect the DI chambers?

I now got the Yellow restrictor as this can be adjusted the red one was fixed..


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/29/2020, 03:32 PM   #11
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20,050
The system should be fully functional..nothing missing.
And Id run more than 125ml...run like a gallon of waste or more...see if you've got 1/4 gallon of good..
Or something like that..


__________________
Who me?
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/29/2020, 04:00 PM   #12
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
I am getting a better Waste Water Ratio now

I am using a ball valve at waste line that is what I was told to do.

If I adjust Waste Line that will make my product water go down or?

Waste Water 450ML
Product Water 100ML

That is a 4.5 Ratio to 1.. Maybe need to adjust more or?


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/29/2020, 04:12 PM   #13
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
I am at a loss why I cant get more product water out. It is cold today though but I have unit in garage.

I was told to use a ball valve to get less waste water and I got it down to 450ML before it was like 900ML..

What is an ideal ratio exactly 4 to 1? My TDS here is extremely high and I heard that a ratio of 4 to 1 is ideal. I also have hard water here.


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2020, 11:48 AM   #14
hkgar
Registered Member
 
hkgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dewitt MI
Posts: 5,036
Do you have well water?


__________________
Gary


180 gallon, 40 gallon sump, 3 250 W MH + 4 80W ATI T5's, MTC MVX 36 Skimmer, Apex controller Aquamaxx T-3 CaRx

Current Tank Info: A 2 Barred Rabbitfish, Red Head Salon, Yellow/Purple, McMaster Fairy, Possum, 2 Leopard Wrasses, Kole, & Atlantic Blue Tangs, 2 Percula Clown, 3 PJ and 1 Banggai Cardinalfish , Swallowtail, Bellus and Coral Beauty Angels
hkgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2020, 01:21 PM   #15
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
Yes its well water, why?


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2020, 01:27 PM   #16
hkgar
Registered Member
 
hkgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dewitt MI
Posts: 5,036
Well water can have a very high CO2 level and shortens considerably the life of DI resin, if you use a RODI unit for water. I have a well and de-gas my water prior to the DI cartridge.

Before de-gasing the DI only last about 2 months (about 50 gallons per week). By de-gassing the DI resin now lasts about 14 months.


__________________
Gary


180 gallon, 40 gallon sump, 3 250 W MH + 4 80W ATI T5's, MTC MVX 36 Skimmer, Apex controller Aquamaxx T-3 CaRx

Current Tank Info: A 2 Barred Rabbitfish, Red Head Salon, Yellow/Purple, McMaster Fairy, Possum, 2 Leopard Wrasses, Kole, & Atlantic Blue Tangs, 2 Percula Clown, 3 PJ and 1 Banggai Cardinalfish , Swallowtail, Bellus and Coral Beauty Angels

Last edited by hkgar; 03/01/2020 at 01:33 PM.
hkgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2020, 05:53 PM   #17
tomreefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 767
I understand that I am just wondering right now I am only getting 125ML of product water per minute and why so low?

I have a ball valve on waste line and set it to 500ML waste now and Product water 125ML so that is a 4 to 1 ratio what they tell me to achieve.

I have a 90GPD and wondering why my output water is so low and my psi is now at 65.. That is what I am confused about.


tomreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.