Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/23/2020, 08:47 PM   #1
hipertec
Registered Member
 
hipertec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southern California (Inland Empire)
Posts: 1,265
2 Float switches in series and Apex

I spent 2 hrs trying to get this figured out. Hooking up 2 float switches in series to turn off an Apex outlet if any of the switches are UP (open). Using the other as a backup in case the 1st float fails.

With it normal (both switches down-closed), if I pull any floats up, it turns off the outlet. So it's working correctly.

The problem is at normal state, I want it to be Open (both switches down), that way my Apex menu screen is not orange color.

So I reversed both float valves. This shows the screen as open BUT the valves will not turn off the outlet until BOTH floats are UP.
I tried very combination-wires, floats, programming, and can't get it to work showing normal state as OPEN and when EITHER UP (closed) on EITHER float to turn off the outlet.

Any idea to what I am doing wrong?


hipertec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/24/2020, 08:29 PM   #2
bhazard1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Can't you wire to separate inputs and program each input?


bhazard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/01/2020, 11:56 AM   #3
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14,097
In series or parallel, the only redundancy you will get is when the outlets are open since BOTH switches will need to be in the open position for the circuit to truly be open. Thus, if one switch is still closed, the circuit will still be closed until both switches are in the open position. Closed will only require one of the 2 switches to close the circuit.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/01/2020, 12:43 PM   #4
hipertec
Registered Member
 
hipertec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southern California (Inland Empire)
Posts: 1,265
Thanks for the inputs. I just went ahead and separated both floats to each input.
I originally didn't want to do this to keep the input available for future projects.


hipertec is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.