Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/11/2015, 05:32 PM   #1
Jyetman
Registered Member
 
Jyetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,709
Rechecking Conductivity probe in 5300 not same why

When I calibrated my new apex probe now nearly a week old I get 34.6 in 5300 solution. When I put in tank I get a reading of 33.8 for last couple days it goes between 33.6 and 33.8 stable I guess. Today I put the probe back in the original saved 5300 solution it reads 40.4 instead of 34.6 why??? I made sure probe was dry, floated the test bag in tank water with temp probe but getting a different reading? If I put the probe back in tank it reads 34.1 what is going on here?

Edit: after 10 minutes its down to 33.9 - 34.0 so its slowly returning to 33.8 but why isn't the test solution the same?



Last edited by Jyetman; 07/11/2015 at 05:47 PM.
Jyetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 05:37 PM   #2
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyetman View Post
When I calibrated my new probe now nearly a week old I get 34.6 in 5300 solution. When I put in tank I get a reading of 33.8 for last couple days it goes between 33.6 and 33.8 stable I guess. Today I put the probe back in the 5300 solution it reads 40.4 instead of 34.6 why??? I floated the test bag in tank water with temp probe but am I getting a different reading? If I put the probe back in tank it reads 44.1 what is going on here?
Where was the temp probe for the PM2 when you put the CondX probe in the 53000 solution? Did you rinse the probe and let it dry? Did you let it settle out in the solution? It can take several minutes to settle. Allowing it to fully settle before confirming the calibration is important for this reason.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 05:53 PM   #3
Jyetman
Registered Member
 
Jyetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by slief View Post
Where was the temp probe for the PM2 when you put the CondX probe in the 53000 solution? Did you rinse the probe and let it dry? Did you let it settle out in the solution? It can take several minutes to settle. Allowing it to fully settle before confirming the calibration is important for this reason.
The temp probe is connected to the PM2 and is in tank so is the 5300 test bag. I didn't rinse the probe in RO or dry it completely maybe that is the reason. Possible the used 5300 test solution is contaminated?


Jyetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 06:02 PM   #4
oseymour
Euphyllia Addict
 
oseymour's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,424
This probe is very susceptible to interference. Make sure the cable for the probe is not close to any other cable, especially power cables.


__________________
Just started Red Sea Reefer 350 (75 Gallon) Build Thread - http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2555495

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer 350
oseymour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 06:03 PM   #5
Jyetman
Registered Member
 
Jyetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by oseymour View Post
This probe is very susceptible to interference. Make sure the cable for the probe is not close to any other cable, especially power cables.
Can the cable be wrapped in aluminum foil to help shield any interference?


Jyetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 06:05 PM   #6
oseymour
Euphyllia Addict
 
oseymour's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyetman View Post
Can the cable be wrapped in aluminum foil to help shield any interference?
I'm not sure, I ended up having to re-route my entire Apex cable setup to get it to work.


__________________
Just started Red Sea Reefer 350 (75 Gallon) Build Thread - http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2555495

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer 350
oseymour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2015, 06:12 PM   #7
Jyetman
Registered Member
 
Jyetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by oseymour View Post
I'm not sure, I ended up having to re-route my entire Apex cable setup to get it to work.
Currently my tank readings properly compare its just rechecking the calibration fluid that is way off. I think the saved fluid is contaminated. I'll just stick with the current calibration since 34 is spot on.


Jyetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apex, calibration off, salinity probe

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.