Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Old 07/08/2010, 02:04 PM   #1
THEFOURTHHENRY
Registered Member

new to the hobby and need some suggestions

thank you for looking, i am starting a 75 gallon tank with a 20 long gallon sump, i am brand new to this hobby and i am a little clueless when it come to the equiptment ratings i need for the tank. i basically understand the things i need but dont know what gph's are proper for a 75 gallon tank, or the overflow rating, or gph's for power heads, i have researched those a little bit and i do want to use koralia's. do i need a protein skimmer right away if im not getting coral till later, how man pounds od live sand for the bottom, and how many pounds of live rock is necessary? sorry for all the questions ha, but i really want to get started with this thing. thank you for your time and patience with me, ill post pictures of what the tank looks like empty if you want.

Henry

THEFOURTHHENRY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/08/2010, 02:15 PM   #2
Allmost
Moved On

Hello

honestly, the best you cna do it to read and read and read and when u think u know it all, read more :P haha

you basically will have to decide what you like to keep first, corals ? or fish only ?

what kind of corals ? all these would change what u need !

basically speaking, u need about 1 to 1.5 lbs of Live rock per gallon. 75 + sump volume