Reef Central Online Community
Neptune Systems

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/25/2018, 12:14 PM   #176
moondoggy4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: menifee So cal
Posts: 10,912
Christmas came early yesterday I finally received my Kamoer FX STP pump.


moondoggy4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2019, 11:24 PM   #177
Dennio
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 151
I just got mine delivered today. Finally got to unpack and calibrate it. Mine is a bit noisy and humming.
In videos i can hear the rollers which i expected, but now i hear rollers and a hum/whine.



Last edited by Dennio; 01/03/2019 at 11:41 PM.
Dennio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2019, 06:10 PM   #178
chercm
Registered Member
 
chercm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,971
anyone tried using the kamoer with skimz calcium CM122?


chercm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2019, 06:24 PM   #179
chercm
Registered Member
 
chercm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkeracer619 View Post
You should pull through.
i am using skimz cm122, if i am pulling water , i just leave the incoming tube in the sump not connected to a pump right ?


chercm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2019, 08:31 PM   #180
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 17,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by chercm View Post
i am using skimz cm122, if i am pulling water , i just leave the incoming tube in the sump not connected to a pump right ?
Yup, that's right.


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2019, 02:26 AM   #181
chercm
Registered Member
 
chercm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,971
i kept getting all bubbles in the reactor after some time . does it mean it have too much co2 injected ?
Some thing like this :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcwhUSN8wt4


chercm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2019, 12:12 PM   #182
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by chercm View Post
i kept getting all bubbles in the reactor after some time . does it mean it have too much co2 injected ?
Some thing like this :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcwhUSN8wt4
It either means one of 3 things.

You either have a vacuum leak where you are sucking air in from a leak on the intake side of the system which can be anywhere if you are pulling through the reactors.

You are sucking microbubbles in from the sump.

Or you have too much Co2 going into the reactor for the effluent rate. I usually target about 6.65 ph in the reactor for media like Reborn and maintain a consistent flow rate that will keep the pH in that range without the controller having to shut the Co2 off. At about 6.65-6.7ph you should get excess gas.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2019, 09:36 PM   #183
billwill
Registered Member
 
billwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 242
So maybe a silly question, but what exactly are we supposed to do with the lube they provide? Does it go on the outside of the rollers? Outside of the tubing against the outer portion of head? Both?

And doesn't this Tygon tubing from US Plastics https://www.usplastic.com/catalog/it...d=25399&catid= match what is needed for the pharmed tubing?



Last edited by billwill; 01/21/2019 at 10:23 PM.
billwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2019, 09:16 PM   #184
solitude127
Proud user of IO Salt!
 
solitude127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 9,085
Finally changed out the tubing from the GB and it was pretty easy. Make sure you re-calibrate the pump after. I'm getting better flow after the change


Here's what old tubing and new tubing looks like. The pump has been in use for 8 months


__________________
Mike
<*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{

ReefKeeping.com TOTM Nov 2012
Socalireefs Featured Reef Oct 2011

Current Tank Info: 60*30*20, 8x54 ATI Powermodule, ReefBrite XHO, ATB Elegance 200, Aquamaxx CTech CaRx, Ecotech Vortechs, Apex Controls, WM Ecobak powered. RedSea Reefer 170, MP10, Apex Jr, Ecotech Radion XR15, Aquamaxx WS-1
solitude127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2019, 02:15 PM   #185
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 6,854
I just changed my tubing also, after 53 weeks.
Now for the Litremeter, you don't want to know how long that has been.
LONG OVERDUE!


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 6 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2019, 01:41 PM   #186
eder10986
Registered Member
 
eder10986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 504
Just picked one up! Following.

Any input on how many ml to start with would be great. Been using a feed pump and constant drip method for some time but looking to be much more precise with this pump. Just need somewhere to start. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


eder10986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2019, 06:14 PM   #187
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 6,854
Start where you are now---then tweak as needed.
You already know what you want to do.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 6 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2019, 09:28 PM   #188
eder10986
Registered Member
 
eder10986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny Kreyling View Post
Start where you are now---then tweak as needed.
You already know what you want to do.


I guess Iím not sure where I am. Since Iíve been running the drip method with constant flow from a sicce without measuring drops or bubbles then Iím not sure what my effluent would be.

Only measure alk and have increased or decreased Ph in chambers accordingly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


eder10986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/16/2019, 11:40 AM   #189
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 6,854
Then start @ 40 ml/min drip & 1 bubble/sec.
It is going to take a little time.
Don't forget to calibrate the pump per instructions.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 6 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/16/2019, 01:11 PM   #190
eder10986
Registered Member
 
eder10986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 504
Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


eder10986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/17/2019, 08:14 AM   #191
McPuff
Registered Member
 
McPuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by eder10986 View Post
I guess Iím not sure where I am. Since Iíve been running the drip method with constant flow from a sicce without measuring drops or bubbles then Iím not sure what my effluent would be.

Only measure alk and have increased or decreased Ph in chambers accordingly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Curious about your tank specs... I've just added a peristaltic pump as well and I really didn't know where to start for effluent rate. I know I need to have an effluent ALK around 30+ dkh. Right now I've got it at 30ml/min and probably a bubble (or 1.5) per second. pH is about 6.3.

My system is 300 gal with quite a lot of SPS. Have not yet found the sweet spot (working through some pump issues as well) but I will report back when I finally have it settled.

In the interim, I'd love to know what other people are using for effluent rate, effluent dkh, bubbles, and system specs. Thanks!!!


McPuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/17/2019, 10:57 AM   #192
solitude127
Proud user of IO Salt!
 
solitude127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 9,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by McPuff View Post
Curious about your tank specs... I've just added a peristaltic pump as well and I really didn't know where to start for effluent rate. I know I need to have an effluent ALK around 30+ dkh. Right now I've got it at 30ml/min and probably a bubble (or 1.5) per second. pH is about 6.3.

My system is 300 gal with quite a lot of SPS. Have not yet found the sweet spot (working through some pump issues as well) but I will report back when I finally have it settled.

In the interim, I'd love to know what other people are using for effluent rate, effluent dkh, bubbles, and system specs. Thanks!!!
Don't quite know what my bubble per second is but I'm at 29mls, pH in the reactor is 6.5ish on a 150g sps dominant tank


__________________
Mike
<*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{

ReefKeeping.com TOTM Nov 2012
Socalireefs Featured Reef Oct 2011

Current Tank Info: 60*30*20, 8x54 ATI Powermodule, ReefBrite XHO, ATB Elegance 200, Aquamaxx CTech CaRx, Ecotech Vortechs, Apex Controls, WM Ecobak powered. RedSea Reefer 170, MP10, Apex Jr, Ecotech Radion XR15, Aquamaxx WS-1
solitude127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/17/2019, 10:47 PM   #193
eder10986
Registered Member
 
eder10986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 504
Previous tank was 150 mixed reef. Kept ph at about 6.4-5 in reactor and alk st around 8

New tank setting up is a total of about 275 mostly sps. Not up and running yet but I need a starting point.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


eder10986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2019, 07:26 AM   #194
McPuff
Registered Member
 
McPuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,730
Small update: Effluent rate is 30ml/min and pH is between 6.25 and 6.28. Effluent dkh was measured at 22.4 last night. Still too low but I'll test again tonight to see if it's holding. If not, I'll have to add a bit more CO2 and lower the Apex min pH to about 6.15. I'm using ARM by the way. What's everyone else using for media?


McPuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2019, 07:31 AM   #195
Member No. 1
Ver. 2.1
 
Member No. 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rehoboth, MA
Posts: 1,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by McPuff View Post
Snip--->
What's everyone else using for media?
Two Little Fishies Reborn


__________________
Pete
"I never make mistakes...
I thought I did once, but I was wrong"

Current Tank Info: In the process - http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2661614
Member No. 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2019, 03:28 PM   #196
solitude127
Proud user of IO Salt!
 
solitude127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 9,085
@McPuff TLF Reborn as well


__________________
Mike
<*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{

ReefKeeping.com TOTM Nov 2012
Socalireefs Featured Reef Oct 2011

Current Tank Info: 60*30*20, 8x54 ATI Powermodule, ReefBrite XHO, ATB Elegance 200, Aquamaxx CTech CaRx, Ecotech Vortechs, Apex Controls, WM Ecobak powered. RedSea Reefer 170, MP10, Apex Jr, Ecotech Radion XR15, Aquamaxx WS-1
solitude127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2019, 03:43 PM   #197
LQT
Registered Member
 
LQT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 1,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by McPuff View Post
Small update: Effluent rate is 30ml/min and pH is between 6.25 and 6.28. Effluent dkh was measured at 22.4 last night. Still too low but I'll test again tonight to see if it's holding. If not, I'll have to add a bit more CO2 and lower the Apex min pH to about 6.15. I'm using ARM by the way. What's everyone else using for media?
How big of a reactor are you using? Iíd be careful with lowering your CaRx pH any further as you are running the risk of turning the media to mush. With your current settings are you able to keep alkalinity stable in your tank?


__________________
- Leon (aka - Water Dog)

Deep Blue 57 Edge ATI Acro Garden Build Thread
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25573384#post25573384

Current Tank Info: DeepBlue 57 Edge
LQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/18/2019, 07:53 PM   #198
McPuff
Registered Member
 
McPuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by LQT View Post
How big of a reactor are you using? Iíd be careful with lowering your CaRx pH any further as you are running the risk of turning the media to mush. With your current settings are you able to keep alkalinity stable in your tank?
This is my fear. I've got a Geo 618 so it should be large enough to manage the demand. I've seen people with smaller reactors running larger systems that have more SPS in them. Melev had his reactor around 6.1 on his 400 gal sps tank. His reactor was smaller than my Geo. Maybe I'm missing something on how to set this thing up?


McPuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/27/2019, 08:03 PM   #199
solitude127
Proud user of IO Salt!
 
solitude127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 9,085
Changed my rollers out after a years use and they dont look bad. Makes me wonder if I had to at all, they don't look too bad






Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


__________________
Mike
<*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{ <*)))>{

ReefKeeping.com TOTM Nov 2012
Socalireefs Featured Reef Oct 2011

Current Tank Info: 60*30*20, 8x54 ATI Powermodule, ReefBrite XHO, ATB Elegance 200, Aquamaxx CTech CaRx, Ecotech Vortechs, Apex Controls, WM Ecobak powered. RedSea Reefer 170, MP10, Apex Jr, Ecotech Radion XR15, Aquamaxx WS-1
solitude127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/28/2019, 09:35 AM   #200
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 6,854
Keep it for a spare if it cleans up.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 6 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.