Reef Central Online Community
Tunze USA

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Aquaforest
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/06/2016, 09:35 PM   #1
Tokyoyankee
Registered Member
 
Tokyoyankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 241
Zeomix

I'd like to know how to properly use Zeomix. I'm currently running it in a TLF 550 fluidized reactor along with carbon and Phos minus, similarly to how Debora is. What is the role of zero mix actually. Thank you


Tokyoyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2016, 03:55 AM   #2
Aquaforest
RC Sponsor
 
Aquaforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokyoyankee View Post
I'd like to know how to properly use Zeomix. I'm currently running it in a TLF 550 fluidized reactor along with carbon and Phos minus, similarly to how Debora is. What is the role of zero mix actually. Thank you
You can use Zeo Mix in the same reactor with Carbon and Phosphate Minus.
Offcourse, If You want - You Can keep all filter media separate.

Regards,
Aquaforest


Aquaforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2016, 05:14 AM   #3
Tokyoyankee
Registered Member
 
Tokyoyankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 241
What is the role of the zeomix in the system?


Tokyoyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2016, 06:35 AM   #4
Aquaforest
RC Sponsor
 
Aquaforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokyoyankee View Post
What is the role of the zeomix in the system?

Zeolites are a good medium for bacteria settle - absorb ammonia and inhibit contamination.

Regards,
Aquaforest


Aquaforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2016, 04:58 PM   #5
gerar
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
but liters per hour must pass through ?? zeolites should not complied similar indications ZEOvit system ???


gerar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2016, 04:34 AM   #6
Aquaforest
RC Sponsor
 
Aquaforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 557
You Can use in RX or in ZeoReactor.
There is no need to shake zeolites.


Aquaforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/19/2016, 07:15 PM   #7
Tokyoyankee
Registered Member
 
Tokyoyankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 241
Is it possible to run the zeomix simply a mesh bag?


Tokyoyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2016, 05:49 AM   #8
Tweaked
FUP&A Member
 
Tweaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Madison, CT
Posts: 7,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokyoyankee View Post
Is it possible to run the zeomix simply a mesh bag?
One of those not recommended but like with most medias of course it can be done. Your gonna want in a high flow area however to get the most contact time possible. Change every six weeks


__________________
DSA 105 Pro, Cebu Sun-Radiums-M80 Ballasts, 4 T5's, XHO LEDs. Through Wall 55g Sump, 10g Frag and 29g Display attached, Vertex V6, 3 mp40's, Gyre, 2 mp10's, GFO, Carbon, Pellets - 10g Bar Tank
Tweaked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2016, 07:54 AM   #9
reefwiser
Registered Member
 
reefwiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville,Kentucky
Posts: 1,208
Generally you want a slow flow thru Zeolites.


__________________
President Louisville Marine Aquarium Society.
http://www.lmas.org/
The 3rd Annual Frag swap will be held
September 23rd,2017 11 am till 3pm
Saint Thomas Fellowship hall,9616 Westport Road,Louisvi
reefwiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2016, 12:36 PM   #10
drawman
Registered Member
 
drawman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 864
Not to hijack but I'm going to use Siporax media passively in my sump (without a reactor). In this case would the zeomix be redundant and not necessary?


__________________
Tim

Current tanks:
30 gallon rimless, G2 radion, Vertex 130, MP10w
60 gallon rimless, G3 radion, Vertex 130, MP40QD
drawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2016, 01:28 PM   #11
reefwiser
Registered Member
 
reefwiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville,Kentucky
Posts: 1,208
zeolite is different from spiorax.


__________________
President Louisville Marine Aquarium Society.
http://www.lmas.org/
The 3rd Annual Frag swap will be held
September 23rd,2017 11 am till 3pm
Saint Thomas Fellowship hall,9616 Westport Road,Louisvi
reefwiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2016, 05:18 PM   #12
Tokyoyankee
Registered Member
 
Tokyoyankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 241
I ask because I'm running it in a TLF reactor but it gets clogged up with bacteria buildup to the point where the outlets trickles


Tokyoyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/06/2017, 04:58 PM   #13
ivanotas
Registered Member
 
ivanotas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Just checking. Finding it puzzled.
on the container it says 500g per litre
on website it says 100-500 ml per 100 liters which is right?


ivanotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/06/2017, 08:19 PM   #14
120reefer
Registered Member
 
120reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest/ Indiana
Posts: 191
I would go with website use 100-500lm per 100 liters. Zeomix can strip the water very quickly of nutrients so my advice would be to start off on the lower end . You can always increase if you need to.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


120reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/07/2017, 08:35 PM   #15
ivanotas
Registered Member
 
ivanotas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Hi 120reefer,
Wat type of nutrients we are talking here?


ivanotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/07/2017, 08:41 PM   #16
120reefer
Registered Member
 
120reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest/ Indiana
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanotas View Post
Hi 120reefer,
Wat type of nutrients we are talking here?


We are talking about Ammonia, phosphate, and nitrate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


120reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/08/2017, 05:44 AM   #17
ivanotas
Registered Member
 
ivanotas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by 120reefer View Post
We are talking about Ammonia, phosphate, and nitrate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi 120reefer

THanks again.


ivanotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/08/2017, 09:26 AM   #18
Piper27
I love bengals
 
Piper27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manassas Virginia
Posts: 2,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokyoyankee View Post
I ask because I'm running it in a TLF reactor but it gets clogged up with bacteria buildup to the point where the outlets trickles
This is why I shake my zeomix in a pump reactor. Shaking zeolites only benifit the tank and media imo, if I do not shake mine they get detritus covered and bacteria slime covered quickly and I would say that decreases it's usefulness.


Piper27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/27/2017, 02:38 AM   #19
StarF
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 586
I have considering trying to use this in my system. How is people experience with this in a sps system? is it worth while?


StarF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/27/2017, 07:41 AM   #20
plyle02
Registered Member
 
plyle02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lake Helen, FL
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarF View Post
I have considering trying to use this in my system. How is people experience with this in a sps system? is it worth while?
Yes,
Many have success running, but it will bring nutrients down quickly, and could harm your corals if you use too much or too high of flow rate. This media is excellent in systems that have large fish populations, as the zeolites help to reduce ammonia quickly, therefore removing these toxins before the cause harm to animals in the tank. Zeolites also are used to remove other toxins, they have been used for years in Aquatics, and some use as air fresheners as they remove pollutants from the air as well. I would consider them a means of ammonia removal, which expedites breakdown in the nitrification cycle, therefore the nutrients can fall quickly, especially nitrates. Phosphates may still need help, depending on your bioload, for this, some actually stack in one single reactor, ZeoMix(on bottom of up flow reactor), then place AF Carbon on top of that, then a thin sponge, then AF Phosphate Minus on top of that. The flow rate is determined by a gentle tumble of Phosphate Minus. The Zeo Mix does not need shaking, that is how this is possible. Change every 4-6 weeks depending on test results.
Cheers,


__________________
Perry

"Anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die" ~Buddha~

Current Tank Info: 50 Gallon AIO Cube, Aquamaxx WS-1 Skimmer, LED/ Hybrid 4x24 watt t5
plyle02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2017, 09:31 PM   #21
nashorn
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,692
Just wondering why does Zeovit need to be replace in 6 week?
So the Zeovit removes the ammonia but doesn't it grow the anaerobic bacteria too?
Is it bad if I don't replace?


nashorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2017, 09:30 AM   #22
StarF
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by plyle02 View Post
Yes,
Many have success running, but it will bring nutrients down quickly, and could harm your corals if you use too much or too high of flow rate. This media is excellent in systems that have large fish populations, as the zeolites help to reduce ammonia quickly, therefore removing these toxins before the cause harm to animals in the tank. Zeolites also are used to remove other toxins, they have been used for years in Aquatics, and some use as air fresheners as they remove pollutants from the air as well. I would consider them a means of ammonia removal, which expedites breakdown in the nitrification cycle, therefore the nutrients can fall quickly, especially nitrates. Phosphates may still need help, depending on your bioload, for this, some actually stack in one single reactor, ZeoMix(on bottom of up flow reactor), then place AF Carbon on top of that, then a thin sponge, then AF Phosphate Minus on top of that. The flow rate is determined by a gentle tumble of Phosphate Minus. The Zeo Mix does not need shaking, that is how this is possible. Change every 4-6 weeks depending on test results.
Cheers,
Thanks for the answer, i have order zeomix, and i run a sps with with a big bioload (around 16 anthias, and 15 chromis) so there is a lot of food going into the system. I used to run the zeovit method 5 years ago. So how much flow is needed ? I plan to start with around 300ml of zeomix for around 650L of water, and increate it over time if needed.


StarF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2017, 04:30 PM   #23
120reefer
Registered Member
 
120reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest/ Indiana
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarF View Post
Thanks for the answer, i have order zeomix, and i run a sps with with a big bioload (around 16 anthias, and 15 chromis) so there is a lot of food going into the system. I used to run the zeovit method 5 years ago. So how much flow is needed ? I plan to start with around 300ml of zeomix for around 650L of water, and increate it over time if needed.


The recommended flow is 300-500 Ltrs/h


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


120reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/21/2017, 10:16 AM   #24
Moshik
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
AF Salt using with Zeomix

I'm planing to start my new SPS tank with AF method including Zeomix.
Which AF salt i need to use, reef salt or probiotic reef salt ?
Also, which bacteria, Bio S or Pro Bio S ?

Notice - I used to work in the past with KZ method and did not have much success

Thanks


Moshik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/21/2017, 12:56 PM   #25
120reefer
Registered Member
 
120reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest/ Indiana
Posts: 191
I answered your questions in your other post.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


120reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.