Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/25/2018, 09:44 AM   #26
reefmutt
Registered Member
 
reefmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mtl. Canada
Posts: 7,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by illumnae View Post
If you used 3 panels over 4.5 ft perpendicular to the tank it means the lights are sufficient to light 1.5ft of tank length mounted back to front. Doesn't that mean 4 panels will be sufficient for 6ft of tank length? You mentioned this was "good" coverage and not just "sufficient"
Yeah! Good point. That’s good math!


__________________
Matt.

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 6xAI prime 8xt5. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 02:40 AM   #27
illumnae
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 318
I have a vested interest in the answer too... I'm seriously tempted by them Orpheks myself!


illumnae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 07:13 AM   #28
Sbw1985
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by illumnae View Post
I have a vested interest in the answer too... I'm seriously tempted by them Orpheks myself!


I’m interested in the Orphek v4 compact for my 90 gallon , curious if you ended up getting them or not ? What are your thoughts I’m skeptical being I can’t find much info on them. I will say the few emails I have sent them they reply very fast


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sbw1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 09:55 AM   #29
illumnae
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 318
I haven't been able to bite the bullet yet considering that I'm running very new Radion g4 pros. My lfs uses them on his show tank and he likes them alot


illumnae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 10:02 AM   #30
Sbw1985
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by illumnae View Post
I haven't been able to bite the bullet yet considering that I'm running very new Radion g4 pros. My lfs uses them on his show tank and he likes them alot


Right on thank you


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sbw1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 09:20 PM   #31
Rarewon
Registered Member
 
Rarewon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 135
Hope ya find this information useful if you haven't seen it before.






Rarewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 07:58 AM   #32
maxwell
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 357
Hi
I have posted before showing my tank 54 x 30 x30 which has 3 Orphek V3 and a radion g3pro which I will be changing to a compact later on .
Bill




maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 08:00 AM   #33
maxwell
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 357
FTS




maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 08:32 AM   #34
RCS82
Registered Member
 
RCS82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Posts: 273
Wow Maxwell, great colors and growth. Are the Orpheks you have now, all 3 are compacts? No additional supplementation, like T5s?
Thanks


__________________
After about a 16 year break from fish keeping,
Wow, how things have changed.

Current Tank Info: 90g, mixed reef, I hope haha
RCS82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 09:03 AM   #35
maxwell
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 357
Hi
I have 3x Orphek V3's and a radion g3pro at the minute I want to replace the radion with a Orphek compact unit and also add a reefbar in the near future.

Bill


maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 09:18 AM   #36
biecacka
Registered Member
 
biecacka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,342
Looks great!! How long have you been running the Orpheks?

Corey


biecacka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 10:00 AM   #37
maxwell
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 357
Corey
Tank started in June 2015 had 2 x Orpheks plus others(radion etc) trying to find the best solution for the tank size.I added the other V3 about 12 months ago and this year I will remove the radion and add a compact plus a 48'' reefbar.
Bill


maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 06:52 PM   #38
biecacka
Registered Member
 
biecacka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,342
Tank looks amazing!!

Corey


biecacka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/07/2018, 07:16 PM   #39
Fredfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,661
Wow, nice tank Maxwell. I've seen the Orpheks over several tanks now and have always been impressed.


__________________
Advice is like a firehose. Be careful how you drink.
Fredfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/07/2018, 10:33 PM   #40
biecacka
Registered Member
 
biecacka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,342
Me too. I've always said if I switched from halides, I would consider the orpheks as a definite front runner.

Corey


biecacka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 08:06 AM   #41
RCS82
Registered Member
 
RCS82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Posts: 273
Corey you have a 4ft x 4ft tank right? 2 of the regular 24" units would match that footprint great I believe. These lights are definitely on my radar too for my tank upgrade, but there is so many great options out there, changes every week haha.


__________________
After about a 16 year break from fish keeping,
Wow, how things have changed.

Current Tank Info: 90g, mixed reef, I hope haha
RCS82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 05:18 PM   #42
biecacka
Registered Member
 
biecacka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 6,342
Yeah I have 4ft x 4ft tank. I think 2 would work also, I currently run 2 halides on the tank. Not sure how much difference in electrical consumption though. Factor in heaters, ac, etc I'm not sure on savings. But I do like the look of the V4

Corey


biecacka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 10:30 AM   #43
gdemos
Registered Member
 
gdemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 459
Just Installed:
(2) Orphek V4 Atlantik Compacts
(2) Giesemann Razor T5 (4 54w bulbs total)

over my 4x4x2 120g.... just fits dimensions.

All mounted 14" over waterline
I'd like to get the Razors lower than the Orpheks but the reflectors block out the Orphek a bit too much.

Lots of back/forth with tech support to get Gateway/Connectivity but seems to be getting there.

Switched from ATI Dimmable Sunpower 8x54 + reefbrite, been growing Acros for 5 years successfully.

I like the looks so far
Orphek's gateway not as easy/nice as AI Hydra (i have 52HD over my frag tank).

Very bright, i think this combo will work


gdemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 06:14 PM   #44
reefmutt
Registered Member
 
reefmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mtl. Canada
Posts: 7,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdemos View Post
Just Installed:
(2) Orphek V4 Atlantik Compacts
(2) Giesemann Razor T5 (4 54w bulbs total)

over my 4x4x2 120g.... just fits dimensions.

All mounted 14" over waterline
I'd like to get the Razors lower than the Orpheks but the reflectors block out the Orphek a bit too much.

Lots of back/forth with tech support to get Gateway/Connectivity but seems to be getting there.

Switched from ATI Dimmable Sunpower 8x54 + reefbrite, been growing Acros for 5 years successfully.

I like the looks so far
Orphek's gateway not as easy/nice as AI Hydra (i have 52HD over my frag tank).

Very bright, i think this combo will work
Cool. What’s the configuration?
Leds sandwiched between the t5?


__________________
Matt.

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 6xAI prime 8xt5. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 06:14 PM   #45
gdemos
Registered Member
 
gdemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 459
Yup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


gdemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 06:29 PM   #46
gdemos
Registered Member
 
gdemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 459
Very impressed with the contrast and visual dynamic of orphek. Liken it to MH setup. However i feel t5 still needed. Larger acros on top shade lower acros with just orphek. They do get light but not blanketed as they do with t5. Maybe able to get away with just 2 bulbs of t5 but having 4 doesnt hurt


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


gdemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 06:40 PM   #47
gdemos
Registered Member
 
gdemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 459



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


gdemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/12/2018, 07:14 AM   #48
Sbw1985
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdemos View Post



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Looks awesome



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sbw1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/12/2018, 11:43 AM   #49
maxwell
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 357
Hi
3 x Orpheks a radion and a reef bar on my 54 x 30 x 30



Bill


maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/12/2018, 08:24 PM   #50
gdemos
Registered Member
 
gdemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 459
Anyone have connectivity issues with orphek app? I am able to ‘search and find’ my lights with the app v3.94 (which i think is an older release) but Cannot search and find lights with app v “G2”

“Tech support” at orphek says he can see my lights in “G2 app” and doesn’t know why i cannot

App im using (older release?) has cloud feature but when i code program and send it never sticks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


gdemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.